Raisin’ Canes Sauce (for dipping chicken)

Cane's sauce

Please excuse my poor photography skills – I’ve learned a lot in the 7 years since I took this!

This is a DIY recipe for the sauce from Raisin’ Canes restaurant, which is also similar to a few other chicken finger restaurants (like Guthrie’s and Zaxby’s.) I looked at many websites, and combined recipes until the sauce tasted the same to me.  I can’t eat commercially prepared mayonnaise, so I use my own canola oil mayo whenever I make this. A single recipe makes enough for 2-3 people to dip chicken, texas toast, and fries in.

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, to taste
  1. Combine all ingredients, mix well. Add additional pepper if desired.
  2. You can serve the sauce immediately, but it will taste better if the flavors are given the chance to “meld” in the fridge for a few hours (or days) before serving.

Raisin' Canes sauce (for dipping chicken)

This is a DIY recipe for the sauce from Raisin’ Canes restaurant, which is also similar to a few other chicken finger restaurants (like Guthrie’s and Zaxby’s.) A single recipe makes enough for 2-3 people to dip chicken, texas toast, and fries in.

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, to taste
  1. Combine all ingredients, mix well. Add additional pepper if desired.
  2. You can serve the sauce immediately, but it will taste better if the flavors are given the chance to “meld” in the fridge for a few hours (or days) before serving.

Original recipe. Printed from: https://randomcreativityrecipes.wordpress.com/2014/07/29/raisin-canes-sauce-for-dipping-chicken

If you try this recipe, please rate it and leave a comment below.  You can also add photos to the flickr group if you’d like.  Thank you!

3 thoughts on “Raisin’ Canes Sauce (for dipping chicken)

  1. These are the reviews from the past 7 years, while this recipe was posted on the recipe site I am no longer using. I find feedback helpful when trying to choose a recipe for myself, so copied them all here for you:

    By Chef #1802639554
    on April 03, 2014
    When I lived in Texas I probably ate raising canes at least five times a week. Their sauce was absolutely amazing and I put it on everything. When I moved back to California a few years ago I have been craving canes sauce ever since; it left a hole in my heart! BUT WITH THIS RECIPE I WAS ABLE TO TASTE FOR GREATNESS AGAIN! THIS RECIPE IS 100% PERFECT! THE ONLY THING YOU SHOULD DO DIFFERENTLY IS ADD A LITTLE BIT MORE PEPPER! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS!

    By alligirl
    on September 06, 2013
    This was an OK sauce; I used it for dipping chicken. Seems like it is missing something, but I don’t know what – I’ve never had this type of sauce before… DH said it was kinda like a homemade Russian dressing. Sorry I didn’t love it, but I’m kinda funny anyway! LOL Thanks for sharing, Random Rachel.

    By twissis
    on September 03, 2013
    Made for ZWT-9 as a taste-test 2nd dipping sauce for Creole Chicken Wings by Ck2plz. The Cajun wing recipe sauce was mustard/fruit based & I wanted a “cream-type” sauce as a 2nd option. Made as written early in the morning after reading sloe cooker’s review, both DH & I enjoyed the 2 sauces equally well. I expect to make this sauce again soon & will try using half mayo & half low-fat sour cream – A nutritionist suggestion for reducing fat content & I’ve found it rarely loses the desired flavor or texture. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. ~ Edited to Add: I have now made this sauce a 2nd time, used half mayo w/half sour cream & then used it as salad dressing. It was excellent! Thx again. 🙂

    By Starrynews
    on September 03, 2013
    I am not sure how this compares to Cane’s sauce, but it’s a very tasty dipping sauce and works great with chicken. This makes generous portions. Thanks for sharing! ZWT9

    By jitneyk
    on September 01, 2013
    -5 stars. Doesn’t taste like Cane’s sauce at all… tastes more like “fancy sauce” people make for boiled crawfish/potatoes. Fail sauce. (lol)

    By pammyowl
    on August 31, 2013
    Yum! This was really good with roast chicken, thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT9

    By ElizabethKnicely
    on July 27, 2013
    We made this for the Cajun/Creole round of ZWT9 for team Tasty Testers. I was once again a victim of random migraine today, so this recipe was a great way for my husband to jazz up chicken tenders for dinner. We both thought the recipe was a little tangy and needed a bit more pepper so we upped that a bit. Also, I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt because mayonnaise, ketchup and Worcestershire sauce are already pretty high in sodium. I am sure that this recipe will be used frequently to jazz up a meal when we have a very quick chicken night. Thank you Rachel, for a great condiment.

    By iewe
    on July 26, 2013
    What can I say but yummy!! So simple, but so delicious!! And so versitile!

    By Boomette
    on July 23, 2013
    My son dipped his chicken in it and he liked it a lot. Probably because of the ketchup 😉 Thanks Rachel 🙂 Made for ZWT 9

    By AZPARZYCH
    on July 15, 2013
    This tastes just like the sauce at Rasin’ Canes! Ever since we moved from Vegas to CA I have been craving this (especially when I was pregnant!) and now I can make it any time! I made as is and it was wonderful; next time I may add just a little more pepper to give it a slight bite. Will be making this often! Made for ZWT9.

    By wred51
    on February 21, 2013
    Other than adding more pepper than what the instructions say this is for sure the recipe

    By Riverside Len
    on January 28, 2012
    This is very good. I use it on burgers. I added a pinch of cayenne to give it a little kick. Simple and easy to make.

    By sloe cooker
    on January 10, 2012
    Very good dipping sauce. It was raw tasting when first prepared so I covered it and refrigerated for a couple of days. What a difference letting it sit made! Thanks for posting Random Rachel.

    By Techsan74
    on September 06, 2011
    This is it. Stop looking for the recipe and start cooking.

    By Dudemickgal
    on September 28, 2009
    This was great! I doubled the black pepper for personal taste. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Made for the Quest 2014 – This could not be easier to fix & the flavor profile is perfect for use w/chicken. A sauce like it is used here in Iceland for burgers, fries, etc, but contains pickle relish that is offputting for me. I like this much better & can now make my own. Thx for sharing this recipe.

    Like

Please leave a comment. To include a picture use < img src HTML tags and the URL of your image